FINALLY RESULT: APC wins all 44 seats in Kano LG polls

The candidates of the All Progressive Congress (APC) have been declared winners of the Saturday, February 10’s local government polls in all the 44 councils in Kano state. The announcement was made by the Kano State Independent Electoral Commission (KANSIEC) chairman Prof. Garba Sheka on Sunday, February 11 in the state capital Kano while briefing newsmen. Sheka said APC beat 25 other political parties to win all the 484 councillorship positions by very wide margin. 

He described the election as peaceful because of large turnout of the electorate and presence of security personnel. He said: “The security agencies include Police, Customs, Immigration, NDLEA, Vigilanty groups, NSCDC and other secret security personnel. “I am proud that the election which was participated by 25 political parties was conducted peacefully without any violence, disruption by any person and no report of arrest.’’ Prof. Sheka blamed late commencement of voting on late arrival of some of the voting materials which were brought from China.

 “The commission had earlier received three consignments of the materials, but last arrived Kano at about 12:45 a.m on the election day despite all efforts to ensure it arrived earlier. “Immediately after we received the materials, we started the distribution about 4 a.m. By 11am we have completed the distribution of all the voting materials. “Therefore, we acknowledge our mistakes, apologise for the inconveniences caused and we are going to make necessary corrections to avoid reoccurrence of such delay in the next elections,’’
Naija Newspapers
Naija Newspapers

Naija Newspaper is a digital media distribution and review company focused on delivering Nigerian news across Nigerian audience. We are the biggest newspaper review company online; our value proposition is to be the all-in-one station for daily newspapers distributed in the country to various online audience. Our partnership includes and is not limited by the following Punch newspaper, Thisday online, Daily Sun Newspaper, Nigeria Tribune, BusinessDay, Leadershjip, Blue Print, Nigeria Guardian and Vanguard newspapers.