Breaking: APC tenure elongation dispute: Suit against Oyegun, others lifeless-court

The Abuja division of the federal high court has dismissed two separate suits that challenged the one-year tenure extension granted to national chairman of the APC Odigie-Oyegun and other members of the NWC of the party. 

The court, in a judgment by Justice Nnamdi Dimgba, held that the suits marked FHC/ABJ/CS/237/2018 and FHC/ABJ/CS/219/2018 have become lifeless, academic and hypothetical. Justice Dimgba Dimgba stressed that subject matter of both suits have been overtaken by events, noting that APC has already started conducting congresses into offices affected by the proposed tenure elongation. 

 The court said it took into judicial notice the fact that whereas the APC conducted its Ward Congress on April 5, it organised Local Government election on May 12 and fixed May 19 to hold its Congress at the State level. Besides, the court noted that national convention of the party was originally billed to take place today (Monday May 14) but subsequently deferred till June. According to Justice Dimgba, “it has turned out that attempt to extend the tenure of current officials of the 2nd defendant was abandoned.” 

He said implication of ongoing congresses being conducted by the APC was that new officials would take over from the Odigie-Oyegun led Executives, upon expiration of their tenure on June 30. However, Justice Dimgba said he was satisfied that there was indeed an attempt to extend the tenure of the current leadership of the APC, saying such action would have been unconstitutional and in gross violation of section 223 of the 1999 constitution, as amended.
Naija Newspapers
Naija Newspapers

Naija Newspaper is a digital media distribution and review company focused on delivering Nigerian news across Nigerian audience. We are the biggest newspaper review company online; our value proposition is to be the all-in-one station for daily newspapers distributed in the country to various online audience. Our partnership includes and is not limited by the following Punch newspaper, Thisday online, Daily Sun Newspaper, Nigeria Tribune, BusinessDay, Leadershjip, Blue Print, Nigeria Guardian and Vanguard newspapers.