Mixed feelings as Gbajabiamila names Reps committees – The Punch

Read All Newspapers in one Place - Download our App for free. DOWNLOAD

Speaker, House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila Leke Baiyewu, Abuja The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, on Thursday named leaders of 105 standing committees of the lower chamber of the National Assembly. Gbajabiamila announced the chairmen and vice-chairmen of the committees at the close of plenary, when the lawmakers embarked on a two-month annual recess. It was observed that while some members jubilated over the announcement, others wore long faces. Some of them also approached the Speaker to shake hands with him while others either remained on their seats or left the chamber before adjournment. It was also observed that while some states got multiple appointments, others like Rivers got only a vice-chairmanship position. For the chairmanship positions, the ruling and majority All Progressives Congress got 80; Peoples Democratic Party, 21; All Progressives Grand Alliance, 2; Allied Peoples Movement, 1; and Action Alliance, 1. For the 104 vice-chairmanship positions, the APC got 63; the PDP, 30; APGA, 3; the ADC, 3; the PRP, 2; the SDP, 1; the ADP, 1; and AA, 1. Gbajabiamila’s speakership campaign organisation led by Mr Abdulmumin Jibrin had promised the PDP 60 committee leadership appointments. Gbajabiamila, however, urged lawmakers who did not get any appointment to take it in good faith. According to the list, Wale Raji (APC-Lagos) was named chairman, House Services; Abdulrazak Namdas, Committee on Army; Aliyu Betara (APC-Borno) as chairman Committee on Appropriations; while James Faleke (APC-Lagos) was named chairman, House Committee on Finance. Wole Oke (PDP-Osun) was named as Chairman, House Committee on Public Accounts; while Hon. Abdullahi Bago (APC-Niger) who contested against Gbajabiamila for the speakership seat was appointed chairman, House Committee on African Integration and Cooperation. Others are Jerry Alagbaoso, Committee on Public Petitions; Nasir Daura, Interior; Pascal Obi, Health Institutions; Luke Onofiok, Federal Judiciary; Akin Adeyemi, Communications; Jimi Benson, Defence; Aisha Dukku,  Electoral Matters; Yusuf Buba,  Foreign Affairs; Yusuf Kila, Customs; Khadijat Bukar-Ibrahim, Committee on North East Development Commission; Tunji Ojo, Niger Delta Development Commission; Tajudeen Abass, Land Transport; Johnson Ogbuma, Environment; Munir Baba, Agricultural Production; and Adamu Faggae, Committee on Constituency Outreach. READ ALSO: APC chiefs seek Nwoye’s sacking for anti-Onyeama comment Also on the list are Nicholas Mutu, Committee on Gas; Victor Nwokolo, Committee on Banking and Currency; Bello Kumo, Committee on Police; Garba Datti, Committee on Ports and Harbours; Ibrahim Babangida, Committee on Capital Markets; Kabir Idris, Committee on Civil Society; Femi Fakeye, Committee on Commerce; Ifeanyi Momah, Committee on FCT; Abubakar Kabir, Committee on Works; Benjamin Kalu, Committee on Media; Nwokocha Darlington, Committee on Insurance; Abubakar Ado, Committee on Information; Mustapha Dawaki, Committee on Housing; Yemi Adaramodu, Committee on Youth Development; Olumide Osoba, Committee on Sports; Abdullahi Salami, Committee on Poverty Alleviation; Lynda Ikpeazu, Committee on Maritime Administration and Education; Mohammed Jega, Committee on Internally Displaced Persons; and Jonathan Gaza, Committee on Legislative Budget and Research.  For the 104 vice-chairmanship positions, the APC got 63; the PDP, 30; APGA, 3;  the ADC, 3; the PRP, 2; the SDP, 1; the ADP, 1; and AA, 1. Copyright PUNCH.                All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH. Contact: the[email protected] DOWNLOAD THE PUNCH NEWS APP NOW ON